top of page

5 Reasons I Might Be a Real Writer

I’ve always been a writer like many others have. But am I a real writer? Well, let’s see what I can remember.


1. I kept a diary as long as I can remember;

2. Starting in Junior High, my Baba sneakily picked up my little night notes that I had written in bed and carefully laid in a row on the floor;

3. My first boyfriend and I wrote long coded messages to each other when we weren’t allowed to see each other;

4. And, in high school, I taught myself to take tiny detailed class notes in my own shorthand that carried me well through university study;

5. As a professor, part of my job required writing and presenting research.

Right up to retirement, my lesson plans were pages long.


Perhaps my expectations for myself have been unrealistic and I’ve been a “writer” all along. At one point I even tried to self-talk myself out of that idea.

Comments


bottom of page