top of page

Weird Reading Habits?

My reading habits must be unique because I am not interested in how many books I read, but how deeply I can connect. If I like a book I must savor it, read it again and again, see how it impacts my experience and embellishes it. I must pick it up each time I need its message front and center in my life.


I have a friend who reads three or four new books a week. When we talk about them she will often tell me she doesn’t like a book. Then I think how common it is for me to start a book and stop it if it doesn’t make a connection immediately. Once in a great while I will force my way through a book that doesn’t resonate but usually not.


I finally picked up a new book just after the inauguration. I must be ready for a new challenge, a fresh start, perhaps? It’s a hefty paperback called Dead Heat by Erik Larson about the history and sinking of the Lusitania. When I was in high school I developed a fascination for the Titanic and the Lusitania at one point. I had no clue that I would some day come to love cruising. I had no experience with ocean life or even coastal locations; I was locked into the interior of the Midwest in South Dakota. But I loved reading about people who lived different lives than mine (great topic for another blog or two).

Comments


bottom of page