top of page

Welcome back, Winnie Watchers!

The BIG NEWS is... we are working on the very last illustration of Winnie Acts Up! We started in September, if that gives you an idea how we got here. Since my illustrator works from somewhere in Southeast Asia, my writing coach resides in South Africa and my project manager lives who-knows-where, the whole process takes place online through various platforms and within several time zones. It is amazing how well the process seems to work!


You may be wondering if this is the way every author works with their illustrator. The answer is clearly, "NO." I have chosen to publish my book independently, sometimes called "self-publishing," for one main reason. I wanted to control as much of the process as reasonable. Traditional publishing gives the author very little control once they accept your manuscript (which may take months, if at all). Working independently, I can move at a pace that fits my style, can choose the people I work with based on my research, and can put together a great support team, like you, my loyal readers!


These days there are a number of options that allow an author to avoid going through a traditional publisher. Anyone can publish pages and put a cover on them. But a good author also has to know what skills it takes to write a good story. I have been reading children's books for as long as I can remember, and before I was reading, my dad read to my brother and me. I have taught first graders to read and fifth graders to read better. I encouraged college students intending to become teachers, to choose and use books well with children, and I chose and read many good books for classes when I was a school librarian.


I hope I have written Winnie Acts Up well. My excellent editors and writing partners have offered corrections and made suggestions to tweak the text. This book has definitely taken a village to complete.


Have a Windy Wednesday if you are in the path of Winter Storm Olivia!


Comments


bottom of page