top of page

What do I do next (or first)?

My brain is a mishmash of ideas floating around until one idea settles into consciousness. It isn't always the one I have been working on recently. Sometimes it is from way out in left field. How do I decide what to do next?


It isn't a simple choice. Even with quarantine, and retirement, and many days inside my writing "studio," other challenges invade my senses. Questions haunt my decision-making and add to my procrastination. How many days per week should I set aside for writing? How many hours per day? What time of day is best for me? How do I juggle other interests around writing OR is writing the one focus I should have?


I have taken many writing workshops, attended a number of writing retreats and conferences, read the suggestions written in journals and newsletters, and asked several writers personally for advice. It comes down to finding myself as a writer. And that's why I am still hunting! Where am I as a writer?

Comments


bottom of page