top of page

Who Am I?

Well….that’s a great question! Let’s see how I answer it today: Halloween 2020. As a child we always dressed up and went trick or treating as a family group; I was the oldest so I was in charge of two younger sibs. I remember being a Dutch girl with a white apron, a gypsy with lots of necklaces, and many cold Halloweens in South Dakota where a coat and gloves were needed, regardless of the costume.


I don’t decorate much; I have two bronze mums and some gourds on the front step and a ghostly snow globe in the entry. I prefer minimalism but that is not always evident. My husband prefers his “things” to be visible.


I like to be busy but in retirement, I also like that I can just sit, work a jigsaw or a word puzzle, or watch some reality TV. In quarantine I watch reality TV because I am a people watcher and I’m stuck indoors. I’m also picky about which shows I watch: no Housewives or KUWTK. However, I am fascinated by people who choose to marry at first sight or how a family with several wives makes it work.


I have a problem with paper work. There are four piles of papers on my bed that will have to be dealt with tonight, but that often end up on the floor until “later.” I am always saving articles about interesting people (Alan Alda, Ruth Bader Ginsberg), healthful eating (Esselstyn), how to tidy a house (Marie Kondo), or yoga poses to try.


And RECIPES! That’s a whole other category. The last two years I have been collecting vegetable dishes and smoothies in an effort to eat healthy and drop a few lbs. The quarantine has NOT helped in this endeavor.


And speaking of quarantining, my husband and I are quite satisfied to stay home. We are the type of people who ALWAYS have something to do and cannot understand those who don’t. Besides all the projects we have going, we are now raising a rescue puppy, something we haven’t done since early in our marriage.


Interesting where thoughts go when fingers are moving over the keyboard.

Comments


bottom of page