top of page

Why is Winnie Being Published Independently?

Have you wondered why Winnie Acts Up is being published independently, sometimes called self-publishing? I'll bet I haven't mentioned that yet, for most of you. If you live near me, you may have heard this story, but bear with me.


I have friends who are authors published the traditional way, with an agent and a big publisher, and a mostly unknown illustrator. Most recently one friend was told that her book would be published by 2026. And few decisions were within her control. REALLY??


As I am a gloriously-aged senior-preneur, and have discovered a remarkably helpful writing coach/team at Children's Book Mastery; and, as I have time to write and rewrite and edit and re-edit; and, as I am of sound mind and body; I have decided I might as well be in control of the process, myself. Hopefully the time from beginning to end will be shorter than for traditional publishing, and I will have more of a choice in decisions to be made.


Speaking of decisions, I have made a lot of decisions over the years, but the number I have made this year alone has clearly surpassed that, and has not yet let up.My writing coach, KarenF, and my illustration & design team, KarenR, Marlon, and Kezia, are directing the process from South Africa and the Philippines.This means lots of time online looking at illustrations and catching details that I had missed earlier. I am so grateful for the openness of the process, their attentiveness to my comments, and their quick responses to questions.


This week has now become a PIVOTAL POINT; it is time to set up the final printing and publishing schedules so the book can be sent out into the world to help children gain confidence and friendship as they learn to love acting!! Just think, YOU will be the FIRST to know when these dates are scheduled; this is my promise to accomplish this goal!


Have a Tippy-toe Tuesday

23 May 23





Commentaires


bottom of page