top of page

What a Weather Week!

Dear Reader,

I don't know about YOUR use of the ultimate chill in the environment over the Christmas holiday, but I hunkered down and worked in my studio four straight days. Winnie News: the storyboard is almost done! My only respite from desk work was when Bella needed to go outside. And that is another story.


Day 1, Bella ran to the door for her favorite thing: a morning walk outside! However, on this day she heard the crunch of an icy storm door trying to open, peered out at the windy, swirling snow, turned right around and REFUSED to go out. Oh dear, what to do? I laid out some newspapers, but she isn't paper-trained, AND she is scared of anything paper. So she just held it till the end of the day when her bladder forced a very short trip out.


Day 2, Bella paused at the door; shaking when the door crunched open again, but seeing no snow blowing around, she started out. When her paws hit the icy snow, she turned around to go back in again. Not a chance, Miss Wimpy. I didn't get bundled up with two hats and long-undies and four layers of tee shirt-shirt-jacket-coat, gloves and boots, just to go in again. So Bella humored me with another very short, but productive, walk.


Days 3 and 4 were better now that she knew what was out there. However, she hasn't yet bounded to the door like she used to. The storm door still creaks open from ice on its hinges but is starting to melt a bit. And she hasn't offered to stand outside and check out every scent on the rocks, leaves, or sidewalk, like she used to. Maybe she will be ready for the next cold snap. I have ordered a magenta jacket for her New Year's present, and some waterproof boots. Of course, these gifts will arrive on Thursday or Friday when the projected temp may be near 60°.


While 2023 may enter like a lamb, there is still too much of winter left. I'd prefer it all at once and get it over with. In the meantime, I will try to figure out how many layers I need to wear each day.


Have a Tranquilly Thoughtful 2023!

PatJ

Comments


bottom of page